SHAPING THE FUTURE OF KARSTADT ON HERMANNPLATZ TOGETHER

NOT WITHOUT YOU!

WE, SIGNA, ARE THE OWNERS OF THE BUILDING ENSEMBLE KARSTADT ON HERMANNPLATZ. WE BELIEVE IN THE FUTURE OF KARSTADT ON HERMANNPLATZ AND HAVE THEREFORE DEVELOPED A VISION TO SECURE THIS LOCATION FOR KARSTADT IN THE LONG RUN.

About a year ago we first presented our vision for the Karstadt on Hermannplatz to the public. Since then, we have introduced our project idea to the various committees of Berlin and have spoken to many people; We engaged via social media, listened to you during consultation hours at HRMNNBOX, and had in-depth conversations at our new bicycle street. All this has helped us gain important insights, which we have now incorporated into the revised concept for our Karstadt on Hermannplatz project. You will find a compact summary of the concept on this website. Enjoy reading it!

 

WITH THIS PROJECT WE WANT TO CREATE ADDED VALUE FOR THE RESIDENTS AND POSITIVE CHANGES FOR THE NEIGHBOURHOOD. WITH A GOOD DESIGN AND A SOPHISTICATED MOBILITY CONCEPT FOR OUR BUILDING, WE WANT TO CONTRIBUTE TO AN IMPROVEMENT IN THE QUALITY OF LIFE AND STAY ON AND AROUND THE HERMANNPLATZ.

Karstadt am Hermannplatz Nutzungsmix

IN ORDER TO CREATE A LIVELY PLACE FOR KARSTADT, A MIXED-USE PROPERTY AND IDENTITY-CREATING ARCHITECTURE ARE TO BE CREATED.

THE VISION

IN ORDER TO CREATE A LIVELY PLACE FOR KARSTADT, A MIXED-USE PROPERTY AND AN IDENTITY-CREATING ARCHITECTURE SHOULD BE CREATED.

 

The central component of the redesign is a new Karstadt: in order to secure the location for a department store concept of the future, new impulses must be given urgently.

  • We are inspired by the long history of the location and propose to rebuild the building in its historical form, before its destruction in the war by the SS in April 1945. This will give Karstadt back its identity-creating architecture, which strengthens its attractiveness.
  • At the same time, this architecture will create new areas that will enable a lively mix of uses, from which Karstadt will benefit. This new mix of uses creates new scope for living and working, as well as for public-interest oriented offerings that meet the needs of the growing city and its people. Karstadt and its subtenants are to remain in a sustainable size as a strong local supply provider for the neighbourhood. This means that local employees can continue to be offered a secure job in the future. The retail share will not increase in comparison to today: we want the small businesses in the area to continue to benefit from the attractiveness and visitor frequency of a strong Karstadt. Through a highly efficient energy concept, a mobility concept for the turnaround of traffic at the location, an ambitious urban mining strategy and an early involvement of all project participants we want to develop an ecological, social and sustainable project for you.

The mix of uses we propose is summarized in this info illustration:

THE IDEA

WHEN ALL OF BERLIN COMES TOGETHER TO WORK ON AN IDEA, GREAT THINGS CAN HAPPEN.

 

We therefore invite all people from Neukölln, Kreuzberg and Berlin to discuss our vision of a new identity-creating Karstadt on Hermannplatz. We firmly believe that this project offers many great opportunities for residents, businesses and all Berliners, and we want to explore and realize these opportunities with you.

The existing situation is not easy: the number of visitors ans sales have been declining for years, energy efficiency is poor and operating costs are very high and therefore a great burden for Karstadt. Half of the car park is empty, the parking yard and outdoor delivery are no longer up to date. Much more and much better is possible on site! In an open and constructive exchange with all those involved, we want to create a strong connection with the neighbourhood, plan according to needs and ensure social participation: this is the only way that future uses, and above all Karstadt, can function sustainably. The new building should not only offer Karstadt a home. It is also intended to create a place for the neighbourhood which residents can use in a variety of creative ways.

Under the leadership of the responsible administration, we want you to participate in the shaping of the Karstadt on Hermannplatz in a transparent form. The results are to flow into an urban development contract with the public authorities – and thus become binding. We hope that the project will become a model for the implementation of the new Berlin guidelines for citizen participation – and this will NOT SUCCEED WITHOUT YOU!

NOT WITHOUT…

A NEW KARSTADT

Karstadt and its subtenants will continue to be the popular local supply location for the neighbourhood. A modern Karstadt 2.0 with a focus on, among other things, regional products, on the special features of the location and on a practical Click&Collect concept.

2.000 ADDITIONAL JOBS

The revised department store concept offers employees a secure job. The new uses are intended to create a great variety and new jobs.

AFFORDABLE APARTMENTS

We are creating 1500m² for affordable apartments in a non-profit organization.

3.500m² PUBLIC ROOF TERRACE

The spacious roof terrace is open to the public and is used for cultural events and gastronomy to enhance the quality of life and stay.

3.600m² OF NEW SPACE FOR THE COMMUNITY

Daycare centers for children, artists’ studios, sports or rehearsal rooms, or rooms for local associations, education or social affairs should be able to find space here.

600 NEW BICYCLE PARKING SPACES

With a future-oriented mobility concept we want pedestrians, cyclists and public transport to have the right of way.

“Karstadt on Hermannplatz is a Kiezgestein – a true Berliner and has been for 90 years. Our project is an investment in the people, in the district, in Berlin. We want to fill this historic building with new life: from the department store of the future to the daycare center and affordable living space. Prestige yes, but for everyone.”

Thibault Chavanat – Project Manager Karstadt on Hermannplatz

“Our new building should correspond in its form to the historic building of 1929, interpreted in a modern way by the architect David Chipperfield. In terms of materials and use, we want to do justice to the diversity of today’s neighbourhood, its residents and thus to cosmopolitan Berlin.”

Timo Herzberg – Member of Group Executive Board

COME BY & DISCUSS WITH US: TOGETHER FOR A BETTER PROJECT!

VISIT US AT HRMNNBOX, ON OUR SOCIAL MEDIA CHANNELS OR WRITE US AN E-MAIL TO INFO@NICHTOHNEEUCH.BERLIN

GEMEINSAM DIE ZUKUNFT VON KARSTADT AM HERMANNPLATZ GESTALTEN

NICHT OHNE EUCH!

Wir, SIGNA, sind Eigentümer vom Gebäudeensemble Karstadt am Hermannplatz. Wir glauben an die Zukunft von Karstadt am Hermannplatz, und haben daher eine Vision entwickelt, um diesen Standort langfristig zu sichern.

Vor etwa einem Jahr haben wir unsere Vision für das Projekt Karstadt am Hermannplatz erstmals der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert. Seitdem haben wir unsere Projektidee den verschiedenen Gremien dieser Stadt vorgestellt und mit vielen Menschen gesprochen. Auf Social Media sind wir mit euch in Kontakt getreten, in Sprechstunden in der HRMNNBOX durften wir zuhören und an unserer neuen Fahrradstraße sind wir ins Gespräch gekommen. Dadurch konnten wir wichtige Einblicke gewinnen, die wir in unser überarbeitetes Konzept für das Projekt Karstadt am Hermannplatz aufgenommen haben. Dieses findet ihr auf dieser Webseite kompakt zusammengefasst. Viel Spaß beim Lesen!

 

MIT DIESEM PROJEKT MÖCHTEN WIR EINEN MEHRWERT FÜR DIE ANWOHNER*INNEN UND POSITIVE VERÄNDERUNGEN FÜR DEN KIEZ ERMÖGLICHEN. MIT EINER GUTEN GESTALTUNG UND EINEM ANSPRUCHSVOLLEN MOBILITÄTSKONZEPT FÜR UNSER GEBÄUDE, WOLLEN WIR ZU EINER VERBESSERUNG DER LEBENS- UND AUFENTHALTSQUALITÄT AUF UND UM DEN HERMANNPLATZ BEITRAGEN.

Karstadt am Hermannplatz Nutzungsmix

UM EINEN LEBENDIGEN ORT FÜR KARSTADT ZU SCHAFFEN, SOLLEN EINE GEMISCHT GENUTZTE IMMOBILIE UND EINE IDENTITÄTSSTIFTENDE ARCHITEKTUR ENTSTEHEN.

DIE VISION

UM EINEN LEBENDIGEN ORT FÜR KARSTADT ZU SCHAFFEN, SOLLEN EINE GEMISCHT GENUTZTE IMMOBILIE UND EINE IDENTITÄTSSTIFTENDE ARCHITEKTUR ENTSTEHEN.

 

Zentraler Bestandteil der Neugestaltung ist ein neuer Karstadt: um den Standort für ein Warenhauskonzept der Zukunft zu sichern, müssen dringend neue Impulse gegeben werden.

  • Wir lassen uns von der langen Historie des Standortes inspirieren und schlagen vor, das Gebäude in seiner historischen Form, vor seiner Zerstörung im Krieg durch die SS im April 1945, wieder aufzubauen. Damit bekommt Karstadt seine identitätsstiftende Architektur zurück, die seine Attraktivität stärkt.
  • Gleichzeitig entstehen durch diese Architektur neue Flächen, die eine lebendige Nutzungsmischung ermöglichen, von der Karstadt profitieren wird. Diese neue Nutzungsmischung schafft neue Spielräume zum Wohnen und zum Arbeiten, sowie für gemeinwohlorientierte Angebote, die den Bedürfnissen der wachsenden Stadt und seiner Menschen gerecht werden.

Karstadt und seine Untermieter sollen in einer zukunftsfähigen Größe weiterhin als starker Nahversorgungsanbieter für den Kiez bestehen bleiben. Damit kann den Mitarbeiter*innen vor Ort auch in Zukunft ein sicherer Arbeitsplatz geboten werden.

Der Einzelhandelsanteil wird im Vergleich zu heute nicht größer: damit wollen wir, dass das Kleingewerbe in der Umgebung weiter von der Attraktivität und der Besucherfrequenz eines starken Karstadt profitiert.

Durch ein hoch-effizientes Energiekonzept, ein Mobilitätskonzept für die Verkehrswende am Standort, eine anspruchsvolle Urban Mining Strategie und eine frühe Beteiligung aller Projektbeteiligten wollen wir für euch ein ökologisches, soziales und nachhaltiges Projekt entwickeln.

Die Nutzungsmischung die wir vorschlagen ist in dieser Info-Illustration zusammengefasst:

DIE IDEE

WENN GANZ BERLIN ZUSAMMENKOMMT, UM AN EINER IDEE ZU TÜFTELN, KANN GROSSES ENTSTEHEN.

 

Darum laden wir alle Menschen aus Neukölln, Kreuzberg und Berlin ein, unsere Vision eines neuen identitätsstiftenden Karstadt am Hermannplatz zu diskutieren. Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass dieses Projekt viele tolle Chancen für Anwohner*innen, Gewerbetreibende und für alle Berliner*innen bietet, und wollen diese Chancen mit euch untersuchen und verwirklichen.

Die bestehende Situation ist nicht einfach: die Besucherzahlen und die Umsätze sind seit Jahren rückläufig, die Energieeffizienz ist schlecht und die Betriebskosten dadurch sehr hoch und stellen für Karstadt eine große Belastung dar. Das Parkhaus steht zur Hälfte leer, der Parkhof und die Anlieferung im Freien sind nicht mehr zeitgemäß. Es ist vor Ort viel mehr und viel Besseres möglich! In einem offenen und konstruktiven Austausch mit allen Beteiligten wollen wir eine starke Verbindung mit der Nachbarschaft schaffen, bedarfsgerecht planen und soziale Teilhabe sichern: nur so können zukünftige Nutzungen, und vor allem der Karstadt, nachhaltig funktionieren. Das neue Gebäude soll nicht nur dem Karstadt eine Heimat bieten. Es soll ein Platz für den Kiez geschaffen werden, den die Anwohner*innen vielfältig und kreativ nutzen können.

Unter Führung der zuständigen Verwaltung wollen wir euch an der Mitgestaltung des Karstadts am Hermannplatz in transparenter Form beteiligen. Die Ergebnisse sollen in einen städtebaulichen Vertrag mit der öffentlichen Hand fließen – und damit verbindlich werden. Wir wünschen uns, dass das Projekt ein Modell für die Umsetzung der neuen Berliner Leitlinien für Bürgerbeteiligung wird – und das gelingt NICHT OHNE EUCH!

Zeitplan Karstadt am Hermannplatz SIGNA Group Berlin

NICHT OHNE…

EIN NEUER KARSTADT

Karstadt und seine Untermieter sollen weiterhin den beliebten Nahversorgungsstandort für den Kiez sein. Ein moderner Karstadt 2.0 mit Fokus u.a. auf regionale Produkte, auf die Besonderheiten des Standorts und auf ein praktisches Click&Collect Konzept.

2.000 ZUSÄTZLICHE ARBEITSPLÄTZE

Das überarbeitete Warenhaus-Konzept bietet Mitarbeiter*innen einen sicheren Arbeitsplatz. Mit den neuen Nutzungen sollen eine große Vielfalt und neue Arbeitsplätze entstehen.

1.500m² für bezahlbare Wohnungen

Wir schaffen 1500m² für bezahlbare Wohnungen in gemeinnütziger Trägerschaft.

3.500m² öffentliche Dachterrasse

Die großzügige Dachterrasse ist öffentlich, frei zugänglich und wird mit kulturellen Veranstaltungen sowie Gastronomie bespielt, um die Lebens- und Aufenthaltsqualität zu erhöhen.

3.600m² NEUE FLÄCHEN FÜR DAS GEMEINWOHL

Kindertagesstätten, Künstler-Ateliers, Sport- oder Proberäume oder Räumlichkeiten für lokale Vereine, Bildung oder Soziales sollen hier Platz finden können.

600 NEUE FAHRRADSTELLPLÄTZE

Durch ein zukunftsweisendes Mobilitätskonzept wollen wir, dass Fußgänger, Radfahrer und der ÖPNV Vorfahrt haben.

„Karstadt am Hermannplatz ist ein Kiezgestein – ein echter Berliner und das schon seit 90 Jahren. Unser Projekt ist eine Investition in die Menschen, in den Bezirk, in Berlin. Wir wollen das geschichtsträchtige Haus mit neuem Leben füllen: vom Warenhaus der Zukunft über die Kita bis hin zu bezahlbarem Wohnraum. Prestige ja, aber für jedermann.”

Thibault Chavanat – Projektleiter Karstadt am Hermannplatz

„Unser Neubau soll in seiner Form dem historischen Gebäude von 1929 entsprechen, modern interpretiert vom Architekt David Chipperfield. Bei Material und Nutzung wollen wir der Vielfalt der heutigen Nachbarschaft, seiner Anwohner und damit dem weltoffenen Berlin gerecht werden.”

Timo Herzberg – Member of Group Executive Board

Kommt vorbei & diskutiert mit uns: Zusammen für ein besseres Projekt!

BESUCHT UNS IN DER HRMNNBOX ODER AUF UNSEREN SOCIAL MEDIA KANÄLEN ODER SCHREIBT UNS PER MAIL AN info@nichtohneeuch.berlin